What's it cost? A 3-BR Apartment in NYC

4 Bedroom, Chelsea (2 BR converted + loft)

Roommate Situation: I have 3 roommates 

Age/Occupation or Industry:

25/Advertising and also Hospitality

Monthly Rent: 2013 $5200, Now = $5300. I pay $1075 as I live in the loft!

Utilities: Average of $250ish?

Apartment Description: The unit is an elevator building. Recently, the lobby was redone. But there’s no doorman. My unit is a 2 bedroom converted with a loft that's around 5' tall. The living room that connected to the backyard was turned into a bedroom with a very high ceiling. I live in the loft, which is probably not ideal for most people, haha. There is one full bathroom. Amenities come in the form of a washer/dryer in our unit, dishwasher and our own backyard!

How I Do It/Money Saving Tips: I have a full time job and then also bartend, which has become a great opportunity for me to see friends and entertain in my own space (okay maybe it's not totally mine...) and also make some money at the same time! Working a day a weekend also helps me to not spend money. Taking the loft helps to save money as I pay $400 less than my roommates for a great apartment with great amenities (even if I am getting tired of hearing guests and friends say "YOU live up THERE?")


3 BR, Upper West Side (2BR Converted)

Roommate Situation: I have 2 roommates

Age/Occupation or Industry:

25/ Writer

25/ Non-profit

25/ Grad Student 

Monthly Rent $3895 ($1150/ $1345/ $1400)

Utilities: Cable and Electric (~$100 each)

Apartment Description6-floor elevator building with part-time door man. Laundry in the basement. 5th floor apartment.  One full bathroom with tub. Large kitchen. Two large bedrooms-- one when you first walk in, one at the end of the hallway. One smaller bedroom (the converted one) and a small living area. Lots of closet space! 

How I Do It/Money Saving Tips:  Make any take-out or delivery into two or three meals. Don't buy more than one drink at the bar. SUBWAY. No cabs. Ever. I cook when I have time or heat up TRADER JOES frozen food :). Also, I’m getting a part-time job once my first semester is finished...hopefully. 


4 BR in Gramercy Park (3BR converted)

Roommate Situation: 4 beautiful lady friends

Age/Occupation or Industry:




25/Private Equity

Monthly Rent: $6,640 Broken out: $2100/$1650/$1550/$1340

Utilities: Average of approximately $400, split by 4 people for electric/cable/water

Apartment Description: Brick apartment building on a quiet street in Gramercy Park. The apartment is the garden-level unit with exposed brick walls, large kitchen and common area plus an open patio. It is a 3 bedroom with a converted 4th bedroom. Washer/dryer, fridge, dishwasher included. Also has three bathrooms which is quite unheard of in this city. Master bedroom has own bathroom and walk-in closet. Back patio provides an open and quiet space for lounging, grilling, and flip cup.

How I Do It/Money Saving Tips: I spend $15 at Trader Joe's every week on hummus, carrots, eggs, and Kale. I find the only bars with $6 wine happy hour specials in the city. I use quarters to pay for my Metrocard and CVS coupons to buy everything else.


3 BR in East Village

Roommate Situation: I have 2 roommates

Age/Occupation or Industry:


27/Investment Banking


Monthly Rent: 2014 $3,750 Broken out: $1275/$1250/$1225

Utilities: Approx $100 for Con-Ed, $150 for TWC, both split by 3 people for electric/cable

Apartment Description: Walk-up, on the third floor. It’s a three bedroom back unit, so you don't hear any noise at night, even on weekends.  Apartment has a living room and small kitchen.  The living room is large enough for a big screen mounted on the wall a Lay-Z boy recliner and a pull out couch.  There is one full bathroom that is a nice size. Each bedroom is pretty small but all are large enough for a dresser and a full-sized bed, and each room has a closet.  The place is at the corner of St Marks and 2nd Ave, so the location is amazing, close to the 6 and N/Q/R and about 100 restaurants and bars.  Easy to walk home from drinking in LES and there are a number of gyms and 24 hour grocery stores close-by.

How I Do It/Money Saving Tips:  Buy clothes on sale or go to TJMaxx or Marshals.  Hard to bring in lunch every day, but try to bring it in at least a few times a week.  Created a budget to track my spending and try to keep myself on track with a savings plan.

Upper East Side – 3 BR (true 3BR)

Monthly Rent: 2014 $3,500 | Broken out: $1,066 - $1,217 - $1,217

Roommate Situation: I have 2 Roommates

Age/Occupation or Industry:

24/ Hedge Fund Research Analyst

23/Security Computer Consultant

Utilities (Total Only): $330 per month covers Gas/Electric, Cable (Redzone, HBO, and all that other good shit), Internet and lastly a landline phone that we don’t use (don’t ask me why we pay for this).

Apartment Description: My two roommates and I live in a spacious 2,000 sq. ft three-bedroom, two bath, duplex apartment, located on East 99th street and Lexington Avenue. Throughout the apartment, exposed brick lines the walls. There are two bedrooms upstairs and one downstairs, a large living space, kitchen area and dining room. After graduating college, we were fortunate to partner with a real estate agent, who was able to find us a gem in the Upper East Side (UES)/ Spanish Harlem (SpaHa) neighborhood. Space was one of the biggest factors in choosing housing options because we tend to have a lot of friends and visitors stop by the apartment.  All three bedrooms are fully sized and can fit your normal bedroom accessories – bed set, desk, dresser etc. The building is a bit outdated (heat can turn off unexpectedly at times) and it is a 4 story walk up (we’re on the 2nd floor). Location wise, we love the diversity! We get to experience the culture and liveliness of East Harlem and also hang with the yuppies only a couple blocks below us. We are right across Mount Sinai, a two minute walk to the 6 train (ratchet), seven minute walk to Central Park (fun), and a 22 minute door-to-door commute to work. We are in love with our apartment and think we found a pretty dope deal.

How I Do It/Money Saving Tips: I have a crazy amount of school loans so trying to save money is key. Here are a few tips and tricks I try: Bring lunch to work whenever I can (this probably ends up only happening one week per month). Pregame hard at home before heading out to bars and clubs. Cut down on the Uber and taxi rides and instead ride my bike.